Thanksgiving

  • Our plans this year had been to stay home and just have Thanksgiving as a family. My parents are usually in the deer woods, so Thanksgiving is a holiday that can be a stay-at-home holiday. As much as I wanted to see my Dad since his heart attack, we were still planning on staying home this year. December is always a month where cash runs out with Christmas, traveling home for Christmas, and 2 kids having birthdays. Mom and Dad both called on Monday wanting us to come home. We decided at 8:30 pm that we would leave the next day as soon as I got off work.
  • I stayed home from work Tuesday morning, packed everyone’s suitcase and hid them in the van. After the Thanksgiving Feast at BCS, I went to work for the afternoon. As soon as I got off work, I picked up the family and we headed north, telling the kids that we were headed to Waco and that we had a surprise for them.
  • Finally, south of Ft. Worth, we decided to let them ask “yes” or “no” questions to get clues to where we were headed. B2 had it figured out since Waco. His questions were, “Are we about 4 hours away?” and “Are we staying at our family’s house?” The little stinker! Yes, he was correct! They were all pleasantly surprised!
  • We arrived at my parents house at 11:00 pm. The kids and I got up Wednesday morning and went to town (Lawton). We showed up on my sister’s doorstep without telling her we were in town. She was surprised to see us! I picked up her oldest 3 and headed back to Cache. We went to my brother’s house and surprised my sis-in-law. We had so much fun surprising everyone. I loaded up her 2 kids and headed back to my parents. We spent the next 4 days with some combination of 5-8 out of the 9 grandkids staying with us. The kids had so much fun playing 4 square, the Wii and watching movies.
  • Todd, being the wonderful husband that he is, watched 8 of the kids so that us girls (me, my sis, and my sis-in-law) could take my Mom shopping on Friday (the 9th, Emilee is 7 weeks old and went with her momma). We didn’t go out until 10am and we got home at 6 pm. We were tired but we had a good day. This was the first time my Mom had gone shopping the day after Thanksgiving. We got her Christmas almost completely bought for the grandkids. My sis and sis-in-law finished up the shopping on-line the next day. Mom is so excited to have all of that done!!!
  • We had a wonderful visit and are very thankful we were able to go home this year!

Here’s a picture of all the kusins:

0 Responses to “Thanksgiving”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

November 2007
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 16,338 hits

