Washington DC Trip – 4/16/2009 (part 1 of 2)

Todd and I were blessed to be able to go with B1 on his 8th grade end-of-the-year trip to Washington DC.  My mom and grandma came down to stay with B2 and K so that they wouldn’t have to miss school.  I use my blog as a journal for our family and I want to record as many memories of our trip as I can.  I won’t be able to post all of my pictures, but you can see them on my Facebook.  I’ll try to pick out my favorites, or pictures of places I want to remember.

Our itinerary was packed, and when we landed in DC, we hit the ground running.  After getting our luggage, we met up with the best tour guide ever, Declan, and loaded onto the bus (with our wonderful bus driver, Homer).  Declan is from Britain, and I love listening to his accent.  He married a girl who graduated from Virginia Tech, so of course, we had a little bit of football talks.  He said that he was a Hokie by marriage. 

Ok, back to the trip.  From the airport, we headed straight to Arlington National Cemetery. 

 dscf3346dscf3391

dscf3400

dscf3364
Soldiers from the 3rd U.S. Infantry (The Old Guard) guard the tomb

dscf3368
We watched a changing of the guard ceremony.  This was a sergeant inspecting the next soldier before he was allowed to take over.

dscf3369

dscf3378

dscf3379
This ceremony was very interesting.  Not a word is spoken by anyone!  To find out more about these soldiers and the ceremony, click heredscf3383
Arlington Memorial Amphitheater

dscf33931
The Mast from the U.S.S. Maine

dscf3395
The Anchor from the U.S.S. Maine
You can read about this here.

dscf3399

dscf3411
Beautiful Cherry Blossoms!

0 Responses to “Washington DC Trip – 4/16/2009 (part 1 of 2)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 16,341 hits

