A Blustery Christmas Eve

For the first time in my WHOLE LIFE (that I know of), I did not spend Christmas Eve at my Grandma’ Taylor’s house (my dad’s mom). It’s the Taylor family TRADITION!  Every year, sometime between noon and 4:00pm, we start gathering at Grandma’s. We hang out visiting with family and eating what I call throw-up dip (sausage, cream cheese, and rotel).  We eat pizza for dinner then spend the next hour or so opening presents, taking pictures, and visiting a little more.

After we help clean up, everyone leaves to go to their next stop.  With all of the grandkids grown with families of their own, we all move on to the next stop of family visits.  For me, that means that my brother, sister and I gather our children and head to Mom and Dad’s house. Sometimes Todd’s mom joins us and sometimes my mom’s mom, Me Ma, joins us.  The first thing we do is to gather all of the grandkids in front of the Christmas tree for pictures, then the adults join the picture. This is my husband, brother, and brother-in-law’s FAVORITE part of the our TRADITION! 🙂  Next, we open gifts, take more pictures, and visit until the kids go to bed.

I love my family. I love that our family has TRADITIONS. I love that my family welcomes others to join us. But this year, we had to CANCEL part of our TRADITION! The BLIZZARD did not allow us to spend Christmas Eve at my Grandma’s. The weather was just too bad for everyone to get out on the roads. It was wise to cancel. My head knows that. But, my heart was just a little sad.

Our electricity went out at about 8:00am and didn’t come back on until 2:30pm. My Dad had a generator, so we were able to have the heater, the coffee pot, and the TV (so we could watch the weather and a little football). Mom and I made a trip out in the weather to check on my Grandma’s. A little bit later, we went back to Me Ma’s house to pick her up and bring her to my parents house (she didn’t have electricity so she didn’t have heat). 

Once our electricity came back on, my brother and sister brought their families over so that we could have a little bit of our Christmas Eve tradition. Yes, we even started by taking our annual pictures in front of the tree.

Dad mentioned that he really wished we had some sausage dip. I agreed that it wasn’t Christmas Eve without the dip. Yes, it sounded yummy. But, for me, it was more about what the dip represented. It meant that we were at my Grandma’s house. Lots of family was there…. eating sausage dip out of this ceramic jar thing with a fire under it to keep it warm.

I love that we had snow. I love that we got to see family. I love that everyone was flexible. I love that everyone was safe and didn’t travel. But I missed the special time with family.  Especially the ones I only see once a year (Roxann).

This situation reminds me that nothing is a “for sure” thing with life here on earth. You never know what situations will come across your path to change your direction/plans. But, this one thing I do know “for sure,” is that God is a loving God. He IS in control. And, He loves us all very much!

Christmas is the time we set aside to remember that He came to this earth for US!  We needed a Savior and He GAVE His life for our sins. Because of that, we have eternal life!  His gift to us. All we have to do is accept the gift.

So, as weird as it felt to not be together with all my family on Christmas Eve, I realize that it would be even worse to spend eternity in Heaven without my family members (and friends). My prayer is that, if you do not know Jesus as your personal Lord and Savior, that you would not let another day go by without inviting Him into your heart. This is what really matters the most in life!

“For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him.” John 3:16-17

0 Responses to “A Blustery Christmas Eve”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

December 2009
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 16,149 hits

