My Mom

Reflecting on Mother’s Day, I naturally think of my mom. When I think of my childhood, I think of my mom as a hard worker. Whether she was a stay-at-home mom or working-outside-the-home mom, she was a hard worker. At home, she was always cleaning something or preparing a meal. There were also the days when she made some of my clothes. I have always enjoyed taking care of babies and I remember her teaching me how to care for them. How to change diapers. How to hold them. How to feed them. And how to love on them.

Growing up, my family enjoyed camping at the lake. In my mind, we went all the time and I loved it. Sometimes, we went with several families while other times it was just our family and the Roskams. Those were some fun days! Swimming in the lake. Boating. Skiing. Tubing. It was so much fun! Probably my favorite thing about camping was the food. Seriously. Nothing can beat a camp breakfast like the ones my mom has made. My mom loves the water and loves to ski. I’m so thankful that she passed down this love of the lake and camping to me.

Growing up in Assembly of God church, my mom was often my Missionettes leader. We had some pretty fun times in Missionettes. Mom and my aunt often took us to camp. Now, these two ladies like to have fun and earned a “reputation.” They loved to prank people. No one was safe. They pranked the girls in their own cabin, including me! They even pranked one of the head-honcho ladies (our pastor’s wife). Funny stories my mom and aunt can tell. Their competitive side came out one year. You see, at camp, cabin’s were inspected every day. At the end of the week, the cabin that had been the cleanest all week won a trophy. Well, one year we all worked hard and kept our cabin clean, but we came up short. This just fueled mom and aunt’s fire. The next year, they were prepared. They dyed sheets Missionette blue. After we all made our beds, they covered our beds with these sheets. That way we all looked the same. I think they even made curtains to match. Our luggage had to be closed and lined up by size. Our clothes had to all be hanging a certain way in the cubbies. One might think this was extreme, but it was worth it. WE WON!!! And our cabin was talk of the camp. These ladies are serious competitors and will go to great lengths to win. One year, Missionette camp was actually at a place where we camped out. This was right down my mom and aunt’s alley. They knew how to camp. They precooked most of our food for the week. At night, when other girls were having hot dogs or sandwiches, we were eating fried chicken. It was awesome!  They also built us an outdoor shower. We were definitely the envy of the camp.

My mom has been a great encourager. She has supported me in all I have ever done. I’m so thankful for all of the things my mom taught me. I’m thankful for her investment in me. Teaching me how to take care of a home, how to shop, how to take care of children, and how to be a faithful, supportive wife and mother. My mom is dedicated to her family and works hard to make sure everyone was happy. My mom is pretty amazing. She is a server and a work-horse.

I want to end this post with some words my mom always said and I have always remembered:

“If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all.”

“You become like the people you hang around.”

That’s some pretty good advice, I’ll say.

cjt115

I love you, Mom! Happy Mother’s Day!

Shelly hearts

0 Responses to “My Mom”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

May 2013
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 16,338 hits

