A New Chapter begins

Saturday, June 29, 2013, 6:20am Blaine drove away from our house with his car packed full of his things. {tears}

Monday, July 1, 2013 7:45am Blaine will start a new chapter in his life —- his first job. {joy} God is so faithful to bring Blaine a job in His perfect timing! Always right on time! We are so grateful! {praise}

As I try to find the words to describe how I am feeling about this transition in our lives, this song comes to mind:

Find Your Wings by Mark Harris

It’s only for a moment you are mine to hold
The plans that heaven has for you
Will all too soon unfold
So many different prayers I’ll pray
For all that you might do
But most of all I’ll want to know
You’re walking in the truth
And If I never told you
I want you to know
As I watch you grow

I pray that God would fill your heart with dreams
And that faith gives you the courage
To dare to do great things
I’m here for you whatever this life brings
So let my love give you roots
And help you find your wings

May passion be the wind
That leads you through your days
And may conviction keep you strong
Guide you on your way
May there be many moments
That make your life so sweet
Oh, but more than memories

I pray that God would fill your heart with dreams
And that faith gives you the courage
To dare to do great things
I’m here for you whatever this life brings
So let my love give you roots
And help you find your wingsIt’s not living if you don’t reach for the sky
I’ll have tears as you take off
But I’ll cheer as you flyI pray that God would fill your heart with dreams
And that faith gives you the courage
To dare to do great things
I’m here for you whatever this life brings
So let my love give you roots
And help you find your wings

Blaine,
Shortly after you were born, I sat on the couch holding you as I cried. I loved you with all my heart and I was so happy to be your mom. But, I was sad just thinking about the day that you would love another girl. The day that I would not be your number one girl anymore. I don’t know where the thought came from, but it brought me many tears. I can remember that moment and the emotions that I was feeling as if it were yesterday. With the help of your dad, I brought my focus back to reality. I decided that I could not worry about the tomorrow’s so that I could enjoy the today’s. For the first 18 months of your life you were a Momma’s Boy and I loved every minute of it! I feel so blessed to be your mom. Your dad and I have had so much fun raising you. Not every day was fun. Some days were rough. We had to take one day at a time, because that’s all we have. One day at a time. But overall, it was a wonderful time!

As I look back on that day, 18 1/2 years ago, I can see that there is a natural process parents and children go through as they walk through life together. When you were born, it tore my heart up to think of you loving another girl or even taking interest in a girl. It made me sad to think that you would not always live with me. Even when you were in middle school, I could not imagine you graduating from high school and moving out. It just hurt my heart too much to think about it. When I shared these feelings with a very wise, Godly friend of mine, Janet Brown, she told me ‘God will prepare your heart.’ I thought she was crazy. Don’t get me wrong, I knew God could prepare my heart for you to leave but I just could not imagine it at the time. And now, here we are. Standing at that very crossroad. You have packed up your belongings and driven 7 hours away from home to begin this next chapter of your life. And you know what? Janet was right. As I stand here facing this transition, I know that God was faithful and He has prepared my heart for this step. Don’t get me wrong, I’m sad. I have cried and will have more tears to cry in the days and weeks to come. But my heart is at peace. Your dad and I feel a peace about your decisions for college and that makes us very excited for you. We are so excited to watch you grow and learn!

My prayer is that with each step you take in life you will draw closer to the Lord. Trust His heart. Trust His will for you.  Always be willing to follow where He leads you. Be a light to those around you. Honor the Lord in all you say and do.

‘Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to Him, and He will make your paths straight.’
Proverbs 3:5-6

‘…let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.’
Matthew 5:16

I love you so much! I am so proud of the man you have become! You are an amazing person and I am excited to watch the Lord continue His work in your life!

Love,
Mom

P.S. Thank you, Janet, for being a Godly example to me as a wife and mother. And thank you for sharing these words of wisdom to me several years ago. They have stuck with me and I waited to see how God would work in my heart in preparation for this moment. Your words gave me peace for this moment. I am so grateful and thankful for your friendship.

0 Responses to “A New Chapter begins”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

June 2013
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 16,338 hits

