Divine Appointment

God continues to amaze me! This morning, I received a text from a doctor in Cleveland that I have only spoken with on the phone twice before today. I had contacted him for a second opinion concerning a tracheal resection surgery for Kenzie versus a newer, less invasive surgery. He was speaking at a symposium today and offered for us to come meet him for a short visit. Todd and I drove Kenzie to Baltimore to meet up with the Cleveland doctor and her Baltimore doctor. As God would have it, airway experts from all of the world gathered today, under the direction of our Baltimore doctor, to discuss airway treatment options. I think it is incredible that we got to talk to these doctors, as soon as their meetings finished, while all of this information was fresh on their minds. Meeting with two of the top airway professionals in the country, on their time….. Divine appointment. God is good!

Cleveland doc explained that the less invasive procedures, Reacher and Madden, are very new and are currently being performed on patients who have a small area of stenosis. They have not yet been performed on someone with a large amount of stenosis, like Kenzie (3 1/2cm). So, these procedures are not an option for Kenzie. However, in 5-10 years, these will probably be the standard treatment. She can’t wait that long. Out of all of the options that were discussed at their meeting today, both doctors felt like a resection was the best option for Kenzie for long term results for breathing. Confirmation of necessary treatment. God is good!

We were able to give Cleveland doc a little bit of Kenzie’s history, including that we just moved here from Texas. He shared that he wasn’t surprised that we had limited airway care in Texas. The doctors in the East seem to be the ones who are taking the lead on growing the advancement of airway treatment options. So, God moved us to Maryland, and through a group on Facebook, I got in contact with the Cleveland doc who referred me to the Baltimore doc (because this was his friend and Baltimore was closer to me than Cleveland – 45 min vs 6 hours). God knew what we needed and when, so He moved us to Maryland to be near expert airway docs. God is good!

Cleveland doc confirmed what Baltimore doc had already told us, that Kenzie’s voice pitch will go down some after the resection. However, he also addressed the fact that she will no longer have voice control, meaning she will not be able to sing. While this was hard to hear and to accept (because she loves to sing), breathing is our number 1 priority. We also know that God is bigger than the doctor’s prediction and He can protect and heal Kenzie’s voice control. No matter the outcome, we will praise Him. God is good!

Cleveland doc feels like Kenzie will get the resection, heal, and go on about her life. He said it will soon be just a memory that she had breathing problems as a teen, but had surgery and is fine now. Baltimore doc agreed. Very comforting to hear this. God is good!

Things I am pondering: How many doctors are willing to consult with you over the phone, without ever seeing you in their office? Much less, offer to meet with you in person, at a conference, on his own time!? The Cleveland doc that I’ve consulted with by phone is coming to a conference in Baltimore that Kenzie’s doc is putting on, two weeks before Kenzie’s scheduled surgery…and we get to meet with him!? Who but God can put you in touch with two doctors (through a Facebook group), who are experts in their field, then sit down at a table in a library to discuss your daughter’s situation? My earthly mind can not comprehend these events. God is good!

Last Wednesday, a friend of mine reminded me of this song. I downloaded it on my phone and have listened to it several times every day since. The words are constantly rolling around in my head. It has become my heart’s anthem. We have hoped and prayed for 2 years that Kenzie could avoid having this big surgery, but it is very clear to us that she needs it. With every step we take, every risk that we weigh, every outcome that we hope for, we will trust in God. He may not give us the answers/results that we want, but we trust that He knows what’s best for her. We know that He loves Kenzie and has a very special plan for her life! She is truly a miracle!

 

Trust in You

Letting go of every single dream
I lay each one down at Your feet
Every moment of my wandering
Never changes what You see

I’ve tried to win this war I confess
My hands are weary I need Your rest
Mighty Warrior, King of the fight
No matter what I face, You’re by my side

When You don’t move the mountains I’m needing You to move
When You don’t part the waters I wish I could walk through
When You don’t give the answers as I cry out to You
I will trust, I will trust, I will trust in You!

Truth is, You know what tomorrow brings
There’s not a day ahead You have not seen
So, in all things be my life and breath
I want what You want Lord and nothing less

When You don’t move the mountains I’m needing You to move
When You don’t part the waters I wish I could walk through
When You don’t give the answers as I cry out to You
I will trust, I will trust, I will trust in You!

You are my strength and comfort
You are my steady hand
You are my firm foundation; the rock on which I stand

Your ways are always higher
Your plans are always good
There’s not a place where I’ll go, You’ve not already stood

When You don’t move the mountains I’m needing You to move
When You don’t part the waters I wish I could walk through
When You don’t give the answers as I cry out to You
I will trust, I will trust, I will trust in You!

I will trust in You!

Lauren Daigle

I really am not trying to be a “creeper,” but I just had to snap a pic of these two docs so that I could remember this day.

Cleveland (left)/Baltimore (right)
DrLorenz and DrHillel 02222016

God is Good!
SIGN

1 Response to “Divine Appointment”


  1. 1 Jan Pair February 23, 2016 at 5:49 am

    Praising God with you! His love indures forever, and He is always watching over each of us. Praying and TRUSTING with you as you travel this journey.


Leave a Reply

February 2016
S M T W T F S
« Jan    
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
2829  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 16,107 hits

